On my own…

20 Nov

I am nervous this time.  It’s more than the occasional, “What was I thinking when I signed up for that marathon?” jitters.  This will be my 3rd marathon, but the first time I have trained for a long-distance event entirely on my own.  With our first two marathons in the early 2000s, we trained with Houston Fit.  I just completed a half-marathon with Team in Training.

But now, I’m on my own.  It’s entirely up to me to set the training schedule.  There’s no one to meet me in the pre-dawn hours for Saturday long runs and certainly no one to map out the route.  It’s just me.

Thank goodness for Map My Run!  It at least gives me a starting place to design a route for myself.  I’m going to try to start running with my phone so that the iMapMyRun app can track the distance for me and then I can upload my routes.

This past week was light on training — just an easy 3-mile run on Wednesday morning.  Then I went 11 miles this morning.  I’m glad I headed out early because it warmed up pretty quickly once the sun came out.  I will post my training plan for the upcoming week soon.

Happy Trails!

Leave a Reply

